ITIL 4: The Most Recent Version and ITIL Upgrades


Axelos has produced a new edition of what is known as the Information Technology Infrastructure Library, or ITIL 4®. The most recent version, known as ITIL V4, has been updated for the present day.

The crucial question is, what does this new release bring? Let’s talk about it! Not all iterations of a tool or programme are inherently superior versions of the same thing. What novelties in ITIL V4 Foundation Certification motivate users to explore beyond the prior iteration of ITIL, then? Is the most recent version useful?

Let’s start from the beginning-

ITIL versions prior to

Early in the 1980s, the ITIL’s initial version was created. It is made up of several volumes. Then, in 2001, the service desk and ten core processes were published along with ITIL 2 when the millennium turned.

The ITIL 2007 release took place in 2007. Service design, service strategy, service operations, service transition, and continuous service improvement are the five stages of the service lifecycle. ITIL V3, commonly known as ITIL 2011, was the result.

Not many modifications were made in this new edition, other from the introduction of the Business Relationship Management, or BRM, procedure. Although it was trimmed out with several errors, it was undoubtedly simpler to read.

ITIL Service Design, ITIL Service Operation, ITIL Continual Service Improvement, ITIL Service Strategy, and ITIL Service Transition are the five key volumes of ITIL V3.

Why was ITIL V4’s New Version released?

In general, every organisation that wishes to match its needs with efficient information technology services uses ITIL. It encourages cost-effective practises, improves customer interactions, and encourages enterprises to create a dynamic IT environment. It is free to develop and advance.

With the help of new methods, ITIL V4 raises the bar for IT expertise and productivity. The goal is to harmonise ITIL with other suitable approaches. Agile, DevOps, Lean, and IT4IT are among them. The two most common user concerns regarding prior ITIL versions are immediately addressed by these techniques.

What changes has ITIL V4 made?

The addition of new content and recommended practises for integration distinguish ITIL V4 from earlier versions. The new edition encourages better communication throughout the entire organisation, less silos, the incorporation of Agile and DevOps into ITSM strategy, and greater collaboration.

The ideas of outcomes, value, costs, and risks are highlighted in ITIL 4. The guiding principles of the new edition are as follows, building on a solid number of concepts supported by ITIL Practitioner:

  • Work holistically
  • Design for experience
  • Progress iteratively
  • Be transparent
  • Collaborate
  • Focus on value
  • Start where you are
  • Observe directly
  • Keep it simple

Remember that ITIL 4 is a resolution of ITIL V3 and represents a shift in company culture where teamwork and communications are given a higher priority. It incorporates IT into the broader framework of the company.

New Certification Levels

The Foundation level will see the first release of ITIL 4 certification. It will serve as a requirement for the ensuing certifications at higher levels.

Other levels include:

ITIL Specialist Modules:

Driver Stakeholder Value

Create, Deliver, Support

High Velocity IT

ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan, Enhance

ITIL Leader: IT and Digital Strategy

ITIL Master

After passing the ITIL Foundation test, you must decide between the ITIL Strategic Leader (SL) and Managing Professional (MP) certifications.

Progressing from ITIL V3 to V4

When comparing ITIL V3 to ITIL 4, there is a shift in concept and methodology. The pace of technological advancement is accelerating. Because of this, it is crucial for current IT fields to be fully aware, outfitted, and prepared to function in this exciting new environment.

Additionally, an increasing number of organisations and companies are adopting a notion. Their performance depends on the IT industry, which needs to be properly integrated into the organisational framework of the business. Achievement, teamwork, and communication are now even more crucial in the 21st century.

Don’t fool yourself into thinking ITIL is obsolete. It is still around and useful for any IT organisation.

The essential content of ITIL 4 can, therefore, only require little change. A new version is a challenge to everyone to alter their approach to IT. Additionally, it shows the route to a smoother and more effective implementation.

The ITIL certification versions have been evolving for many years. It’s because the test is meant to value your education and experience as well as your professional credentials. Many IT professionals consider obtaining the higher qualification. As a result, ITIL with modern updates enables them to compete in the market and continue to progress according to their qualifications.

Are You Looking Forward to the ITIL Course?

It’s a great time to start learning ITIL now that version 4 of the framework has been released. If you are already knowledgeable with ITIL, you should update to this updated edition. Being certified is simple because there are various online training programmes that provide ITIL 4 Foundation and educate you the most recent ITIL knowledge as needed.

After completing the course, you will become an ITIL expert. You learn about each phase of the lifecycle of IT services in this course. It also offers improved productivity, efficient service provision, and cost optimisation for your sector.

The majority of the seven primary beneficial courses may be found while searching for the top ITIL 4 courses. They are the ITIL Foundation and ITIL Intermediate SS.

organised by more than online classes with qualified instructors. You must be online to submit your questions. Your ITIL test will eventually come, therefore you need to be ready for it.

To ace the ITIL Foundation test, remember these five essential pointers. Look at this:

  1. Continue your practise: Practise previous year’s question papers as well as ITIL model answers.
  2. Knowing the material: Take your time to comprehend the course material and adjust your study strategy.
  3. Understanding the Lifecycle and Capability Modules: Get the fundamentals correct and study for your exam.

  4. Keep these words in mind: Discover the essential vocabulary for the ITIL Foundation exam, including service design, service level agreements, contracts, service strategy, operational level agreements, and more.
  5. Consider ITIL Only: Many applicants follow the standards from the prior year when preparing for the test. Keep in mind that laws and regulations are subject to annual modification. You must keep current and concentrate on passing your ITIL test, not on your company.

But the ITIL 4 enables candidates to concentrate on IT service management using a completely new end-to-end operational model for the creation, delivery, and ongoing improvement of tech-based services and products. Search for the ITIL 4 test preparation materials in Sprintzeal to succeed!

Leave a Reply